Skip to content

Use affirm to get 0% APR rateover 12months!

E-bike Regulations for Different States

Every rider should be aware of their state's e-bike regulations and laws, whether you are an experienced e-biker or new. Mokwheel suggests our customers check the local rules before getting on the road. 


In general, electric bicycles in most states are not subject to the registration, licensing, or insurance requirements that apply to motor vehicles. We analyzed the particular laws of e-bikes in several states in America. Check the following list for your local information. Please double-check your state and city rules for your safety for more details.


Arkansas

  • Helmets are required for riders of Class 3 e-bikes under 21 years of age.
  • Persons under 16 years of age may not ride a Class 3 e-bike.
  • There are certain access restrictions for Class 3 e-bike riders.

Arizona:

  • Helmets are not required and there is no age minimum for E-bike use.
  • Ebike is allowed on sidewalks and bike paths.

Florida:

  • All operators under 16 years of age are required to wear a helmet.

Illinois:

  • E-riders may not be ridden on sidewalks.

Kansas:

  • An e-bike is defined as an “electric assisted bicycle,” so long as the e-bike’s motor is under 1,000w, has a maximum speed of 20mph and has operable pedals. The same rules of the road apply to both e-bikes and human-powered bicycles.
  • Helmets are not required and there is no age minimum for e-bike use.
  • E-bikes are allowed on sidewalks and bike paths

Kentucky:

  • Helmets are not required and there is no age minimum for e-bike use.
  • E-bikes are allowed on sidewalks and bike paths.

Maine:

  • Helmets are required for riders under 16 years of age.
  • A person under 16 years of age may not operate a Class 2 or Class 3.  

Maryland:

  • E-bikes are not permitted on sidewalks unless expressly allowed

Massachusetts:

  • E-bike riders must carry an operator’s license and are subject to registration requirements.
  • E-bikes are not subject to insurance requirements.
  • Helmets are required, and there is a 16 year age minimum for e-bike use.
  • E-bikes are not allowed on sidewalks or bike paths

Minnesota:

  • No person under fifteen years of age shall operate an electric bicycle.

Montana:

  • An e-bike is defined as an “electrically assisted bicycle,” so long as the e-bike has a maximum speed of 20mph.
  • The same rules of the road apply to both e-bikes and human-powered bicycles.

New Mexico:

  • The minimum user age is 15 years of age.
  • E-bikes are not allowed on sidewalk.

New York:

  • Have access on roads with speed limits of 30 mph or less, including bike lanes.
  • Have access on some bike paths that are connected with or adjacent to roads.
  • Must ride single file. 


North Carolina:

  • Helmets are not required, but the age minimum for ebike use is 16 years. 

Oregon:

  • The age minimum for e-bike riders is 16 years. 
  • E-bike riders are not required to wear a helmet.

Pennsylvania:

  • Helmets are not required.
  • No person under 16 years of age may operate an e-bike.

South Carolina:

  • E-bikes are subject to the rules of the road that apply to vehicles

Washington DC:

  • You must be 16 years or older to operate an e-bike

West Virginia:

  • All operators nder 15 years old must wear a helmet. 

 

*States that are not on the list follow general restrictions.




Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.

Use affirm to get 0% APR rateover 12months